Skip Navigation Links Home : About UOP : The Chancellor of the University and the Board of Trustees
Universities throughout the world are considered leaders of communities and of the processes of change and modernization so as to ensure social development and progress. They are also considered hubs for freedom of thought and creativity.
The University of Petra (UOP) believes that Man is the catalyst for hope and change so as to elevate the status of a society, in all facets, towards betterment and richness. This belief emanates from an unwavering conviction that Man is the first and foremost active value who is capable of change.
Therefore, UOP invests in creative human development to ensure that its students conduct research that is based on expanded knowledge, both ancient and modern, that enables them to become active resources in a grand procession that can lead them towards lead positions towards reform and change on both national and regional levels.
Human Development Goals are not merely directed towards students, but extend beyond them to cover their professors and those entrusted with their education; they also facilitate the means for providing students with knowledge through all possible ways. For this purpose, UOP connects with other universities and sources of knowledge, both Arab and foreign, to present its students with the tools needed for attaining high levels on the path towards serious scientific research.
The University of Petra is also concerned with promoting learners’ personalities and creating the means for their communication with society in a way that enables the latter to truly benefit from its members’ full potential as it moves forward towards reforming itself.
UOP also believes that language is the source of all knowledge as it is needed to disseminate knowledge to the world, and similarly, that language is void of meaning unless it embodies thought. Therefore, the University, as a bilingual institution, is boundlessly concerned with linguistic development, and ensures its students master their national language, and at least one foreign language, so that they are capable of employing it/them in their scientific and knowledge-based interactions.
The University also caters to students’ betterment and perfection at foreign languages as this is the most effective channel through which all scientific novelties may be fully grasped.
Last, but not least, the University of Petra toils towards instilling the ability of critical thinking in its students by avoiding tutoring and conventional methods of brain cramming that would lead only to forgetfulness. Instead, the University strengthens learners’ personalities in embracing the ability to think for themselves and to employ knowledge in revolutionizing their ways of thinking.
Wishing You Success,
Dr. Adnan Badran
The Chancellor
Event Calendar
<October 2016>

جسرٌ نحو المعرفة
Skip Navigation Links الرئيسية : عن جامعة البترا : المستشار الأعلى للجامعة ومجلس أمنائها
 
تعتبر الجامعات في كل البلاد قائدة لمجتمعاتها ورائدة في عمليات التغيير والتحديث بما يضمن تطور المجتمع وتقدمه ورقيّه. كما تعتبر الجامعات مجمعاً للفكر الحر والخلاق والمبدع.
 
وتؤمن جامعة البترا بأن الإنسان هو مناط الأمل ومعقد الرجاء في الارتقاء بالمجتمع – على مختلف الصعد - إلى ما هو أفضل و أكثر غنىً. وهذا الإيمان مصدره اعتقاد لا تردد فيه أن الإنسان يمثل أولاً وأخيراً القيمة الفاعلة القادرة على التغيير.
 
وانطلاقا من هذه المقولة، تعمل جامعة البترا على التنمية البشرية الخلاّقة بما يكفل توجه الطلبة إلى البحث المبني على الاطلاع الواسع والوقوف على المعارف، تليدها وطريقها، قديمها ومستحدثها، توجهاً يجعلهم أدوات فاعلة في مسيرة مظفرة قادرة أن تقودهم إلى حيث يجب أن يكونوا في مركز الصدارة ومن القادرين على الإصلاح والتغيير في إطار التوجهين الوطني والقومي على حد سواء.
 
ولا تتجه أهداف التنمية البشرية إلى الطلبة فحسب، بل تتجاوزهم إلى أساتذتهم والقائمين على تثقيفهم، فتيسر لهم أسباب التزود بالمعرفة بكل وسيلة وتقنية ممكنتين، وتتواصل في سبيل ذلك مع مصادر المعرفة والجامعات الأخرى، عربية وأجنبية، ميسرة لهم بهذه الوسائل مجتمعة كل ما يلزم لبلوغ درجات متقدمة على طريق البحث العلمي الجاد.
 
وتعنى جامعة البترا بتربية شخصية المتعلم وخلق أسباب التواصل مع المجتمع بما يحقق له الاستفادة الحقيقية من إمكانات أبنائه، والأخذ بيده إلى ما يصلح من شأنه.
 
كما تؤمن جامعة البترا بأن اللغة هي وعاء المفكر، فلا فكر بلا لغة، ولا قيمة للغة إن لم تكن تحمل فكراً. ولهذا تعنى جامعة البترا عناية لا حدود لها بالتنمية اللغوية، حيث تحرص على إعداد طلبة يتقنون لغتهم القومية ويستطيعون توظيفها في ما يعرض لهم من شؤون العلم والحقائق العلمية.
 
وإلى جانب اهتمام الجامعة باللغة القومية فهي تعنى باللغات الأجنبية لأنها الوسيلة الأكثر فعلاً في الوقوف على كل مستحدث جديد في مجالات العلوم المختلفة.
 
وأخيراً فإننا في جامعة البترا نتجه إلى أن نكوّن – تكويناً نهائياً وكاملاً - مَلَكَة التفكير لدى أبنائنا الطلبة، متجنبين حشو الأدمغة بمعارف سرعان ما يتسلل إليها النسيان، بل نعمل على أن ننشيء في شخصية المتعلم القدرة على التفكير وعلى توظيف المعارف في تحديث هذا التفكير وتقوية مَلَكات الكشف فيه.
 
 
"مع أطيب تمنياتي لكم بالتوفيق"
                                                                            الأستاذ الدكتور عدنان بدران
المستشار الأعلى للجامعة ولمجلس أمنائها 
 
التقويم
<كانون الثاني 2017>
السبتالاحدالاثنينالثلاثاءالاربعاءالخميسالجمعة
123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031