Skip Navigation Links Home : Administration : Professor Mahmoud Samra
Professor Mahmmoud Al-Samra, PhD
Jordan University for Women,
University of Petra (1993-2003)
Professor Mahmoud Dawood Al-Samra is a holder of PhD in Arabic from the School of African and Oriental Studies University of London (1958), and BA in Literature from Fouad Al-Awal University, Cairo (1950). He was awarded a number of decoration and prizes: Mahmoud Al-Samra: Critic, Intellectual, and Human (a book of merit in his honour) by his honors, published by Shoman Foundation (2001); Medal of Al-Hussein for Innovation and Distinction, Amman (2002); Medal of Jordanian Al-Kawkab, First order, Amman (1993); Medal of Excellence in Education, Amman (1993) Medal of Jordanian Al-Kawkab, Second Order,  Amman (1991); Medal of Al-Quds for Culture awarded by Palestine Liberation Organization (1991); Swedish Medal (1989); Medal of Independence, First order, Amman (1974); Raven Award from the University of London (1958).
Professor Al-Samra has over 250 books, research papers, articles, compositions, and manuscripts to his credit. He is a member of the Academy of the Arabic Language in Cairo, the Academy of the Arabic Language in Damascus, Iraqi Academy of Sciences in Baghdad. He was Chairman of the Jordanian Writers Society (1981-192), Vice-President of the Jordanian Academy of the Arabic Language, and Honorary Fellow of the Institute of African Studies.
Professor Al- Samra was president of the University of Petra (formerly University for Women) (1993-2003), Honorary Professor, University of Jordan (1992), President of the Council of Trustees of the Jordan University for Women (1992-1994), Minister of Culture (1993), President of the University of Jordan (1989-1991), Vice-President of the University of Jordan (1973-1989), Professor and Dean of the Faculty of Arts, University of Jordan (1968-1973), Vice-President of Al-Arabi Magazine (Kuwait) (1958-1964).
Event Calendar
<October 2016>

جسرٌ نحو المعرفة
Skip Navigation Links الرئيسية : إدارة الجامعة : التاريخ القيادي للجامعة - معالي الأستاذ الدكتور محمود داود السمرة
 
معالي الأستاذ الدكتور محمود داود السمرة
تولى رئاسة الجامعة
(البنات الأهلية) من: عام 1993 حتى عام 2003
 
الأستاذ الدكتور محمود داود السمرة حاصل على درجة دكتوراه في اللغة العربية من معهد الدراسات الشرقية والأفريقية في جامعة لندن (1958)، وليسانس في الآداب، جامعة فؤاد الأول، القاهرة (1950). ولديه عدد من الأوسمة والجوائز: محمود السمرة: الناقد، والمثقف، والإنسان – كتاب تكريم صادر عن مؤسسة شومان بأقلام المشتركين في التكريم (2001)، ووسام الحسين للإبداع والتميز، عمان 2002)، ووسام الكوكب الأردني من الدرجة الأولى، عمان (1993)، ووسام التربية الممتاز - عمان 1993)، ووسام الكوكب الأردني من الدرجة الثانية، عمان (1991)، ووسام القدس للثقافة من منظمة التحرير الفلسطينية (1991)، والوسام السويدي (1989)، ووسام الاستقلال من الدرجة الأولى، عمان(1974 ،وجائزة روفن من جامعة لندن، (1958).
 
ولديه ما يزيد على 250 كتاباً وبحثاً ومقالاً ومؤلفاً ومخطوطة.  وهو عضو في مجمع اللغة العربية بالقاهرة، وعضو في مجمع اللغة العربية بدمشق، وعضو في المجمع العلمي العراقي، بغداد، ورئيساً لرابطة الكتاب الأردنيين (1981 - 1982)، ونائباً لرئيس مجمع اللغة العربية الأردني، وزميلاً فخرياً لمعهد الدراسات الأفريقية.
 
وعمل الدكتور محمود السمرة رئيساً لجامعة البترا/جامعة البنات سابقاً (1993 - 2003)، وأستاذ شرف في الجامعة الأردنية (1992 - )، ورئيساً لمجلس أمناء جامعة البنات الأردنية (1992 - 1994)، ووزيراً للثقافة (1993) ، ورئيساً للجامعة الأردنية (1989 - 1991)، ونائباً لرئيس الجامعة الأردنية (1973 - 1989)، وأستاذاً وعميداً لكلية الآداب بالجامعة الأردنية (1968 - 1973) ، ونائباً لرئيس مجلة العربي، الكويت (1958 - 1964).
التقويم
<تموز 2017>
السبتالاحدالاثنينالثلاثاءالاربعاءالخميسالجمعة
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031