Skip Navigation Links Home : Academics : Faculty of Information Technology
The Faculty of Information Technology (FIT) at University of Petra is keen on keeping up to date with the rapid changes and latest advancements in the field of Information Technology (IT). Accordingly, the Faculty makes continuous efforts in the development of its faculty members, learning and teaching resources, research, and curriculums. With close monitoring and analysis of the needs of local and regional Industries, FIT spells out all efforts to satisfy these needs by graduating well educated students who are properly trained to serve their communities. FIT provides an excellent atmosphere that can be characterized as dynamic, motivating, and innovative; making it an incubator of many ideas affecting the university as a whole and the local community.
Historical Background
In the academic year 2003/2004, and due to the growing demand on IT studies, the Department of Computer Science, which had been serving IT students since 1991, went through a major change to finally become the Faculty of Information Technology. As an independent faculty, FIT developed a well-structured strategic plan with emphasis on quality educational programs and practical training. FIT was also capable of serving larger numbers of students with a wider range of IT related programs. These programs include: Computer Science, Computer Information Systems, Software Engineering, Computer Networks, and Networks & Information Security.
Faculty Members and Staff 
FIT attracts highly qualified faculty members who possess experience in both teaching and research. In addition to teaching loads, research, and advising, every faculty member is required to join various faculty committees, participate in faculty activities, serve the local community, and join faculty members' development programs. Every faculty member is also required to adhere to quality standards, and to play a major role in the Quality Assurance Process. Staff members at FIT are carefully selected with the proper experience to best serve students as well as faculty members. FIT recruits an excellent team of administrative and technical support programmers, software developers, network and security administrators, web and media designers, e-learning specialists and developers, and laboratory supervisors.
Computer and Networking Labs
FIT hosts a large number of up-to-date computers providing distinguished computer-to-student ratio of more than 1:1.6; these computers are distributed in 15 computer labs. Each lab is equipped with high performance networking equipment and Internet access. The labs serve MS Windows and Linux operating systems and various applications, as well as multi-media programming. Three of the labs are highly sophisticated network labs to serve as Cisco training labs to teach CCNA, CCNP, CCNP Wireless, and IP-Telephony courses.
Classrooms & Facilities
Classrooms at FIT are carefully designed to be comfortable for students and instructors. Classrooms are equipped with PCs, datashows, screens, white boards, and Internet connection.

Admission Requirements

•High School Degree with Science or IT tracks only, with the minimum average set by the ministry of higher education.
•A complete admission application
•Passing Entrance Exams (IT, Arabic, English and Mathematics)

Graduation Requirements

•Complete and pass a total of 132 to 135 Credit Hours with a minimum GPA of 2.00
•Pass the Senior Project course and Field Training
•Complete the HEAC Competency Exam
FIT seeks to be recognized as a national and regional center of excellence for learning and research in the field of IT.
FIT's mission is to provide students with up-to-date educational programs, and to equip them with  necessary knowledge and skills to become leaders and innovators in the field of computing and information technology disciplines, and to produce graduates who will be successful professionals, engaged in lifelong learning, and committed to serving their communities.​

  • Professional Career: To assume successful professional careers in the computing and Information Technology industry relying on the broad understanding of computer science and related information and communication technology fundamentals. 
  • Lifelong Learning and Graduate Studies: To adapt to new technologies and to remain at the leading edge of ICT practice, and to able to pursue advanced education and research opportunities. 
  • Leadership and Community Service: To use effective communication skills, innovative thinking, and technical background to conduct themselves in a professional and ethical manner to provide services that support the community and the region.







Enrolled Students
Program 2010-2011 2011-2012 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
CS 160 170 175 200 169
CIS 118 114 106 115 91
SE 246 227 220 227 222
CNS 29 67 97 87 79
Total 553 578 598 629 561
Graduate Students
Program 2010-2011 2011-2012 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
CS 16 15 42 39 38
CIS 13 24 23 23 18
SE 29 46 35 50 40
CNS 0 0 5 18 14
Total 58 85 105 130 110
New Students
Program 2010-2011 2011-2012 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
CS 61 69 70 95 52
CIS 41 36 42 43 23
SE 76 83 95 63 75
CNS 28 38 36 11 19
Total 206 226 243 212 169

Computer Science

Computer science is the systematic study of algorithmic methods for representing and transforming information, including their theory, design, implementation, application, and efficiency.More

Software Engineering

Software engineering is the application of a systematic, disciplined, quantifiable approach to the development, operation, and maintenance of software, and the study of these approaches; that is, the application of engineering to software. More

Computer Information Systems

The Computer Information Program is designed so that a student is capable upon his/her graduation to play a major role in the workforce of Information Systems. More

Computer Networks

Computer Networks specialization is considered one of the fastest growing disciplines in Information Technology. The importance of this field of study has become very important as a result of the latest advancements in the Internet and its applications,More

Professor Ghassan F. Issa, Dean

 Professor Ghassan F. Issa, Dean
It is with a great pleasure to welcome you to the Faculty of Information Technology (FIT) website.
Event Calendar
<October 2016>

جسرٌ نحو المعرفة
Skip Navigation Links الرئيسية : أكاديمي : كلية تكنولوجيا المعلومات
نبذة عن الكلية
تسعى كلية تكنولوجيا المعلومات في جامعة البترا إلى مواكبة التغييرات السريعة وأحدث التطوُّرات في مجال تكنولوجيا المعلومات. وعليه، تبذلُ الكليّةَ جهودًا كبيرة لتطوير أعضاء هيئة التدريس والموارد التعليميّة والبحوث والمناهج. كما تبذل الكليّةُ جهوداً كبيرةً لتلبية احتياجات أسواق العمل المحليّة والإقليميّة عبر تخريج الطلبة المُؤَّهلين والمدربين تدريباً جيداً لخدمة مجتمعهم. تتسم بيئة الكليّة بأنّها حيويٌّة وتحفيزيٌّة وتشجع على الابتكار، مما يجعلها حاضنةً لكثيرٍ من الأفكار التي تُؤّثر ليس فقط في الجامعة بأكملها وإنما بالمجتمع المحليّ.
معلومات أساسية
تأسست كليّةِ تكنولوجيا المعلومات في العام الجامعي 2003/2004. وخلال سنوات قليلة من تأسيسها، أصبحت كلية تكنولوجيا المعلومات نموذجًا يُقتدى به والكلية الأولى ضمنَ الكليّات التي يتنافسُ الطلبةُ للالتحاق بها؛ بسبب تميّز برامجها الأكاديميّة، وجودة مخرجاتِها التعليميّة، وكفاءة الهيئة التدريسية والإدارية العاملة فيها. تستقطبُ الكليّةُ أفضل الكفاءات العلميّة التي تمتلك خبرات مهنيّة وتعليمية وبحثيّة ومهارات إدارية.
وتحرصُ الكليّة دائمًا على الالتزام بمعايير الاعتماد الخاص التي وضعها مجلسُ الاعتماد في وزارة التعليم العاليّ والبحث العلميّ في كافة البرامج التي تقدمها وتطبق معايير الاعتماد الدّوليّة التي وضعتها الهيئّات العالميّة لتخصصات تكنولوجيا المعلومات. وتطرحُ الكليّةُ برامجَ أكاديميّةٍ مختلفة تتماشى مع متطلبّات سوق العمل وتواكب أحدث المستجَدّات في هذا المجال سريع التغيّر. وضعَت الكلية خطّةٍ زمنيّة تُنفَّذ على مراحل بهدف التوسّع المخطط له لتحقيق مخرجات تعليمية ممثلة بطلاب مؤهلين.
أعضاء الهيئتين التدريسيّة والإداريّة
تستقطبُ كليّةُ تكنولوجيا المعلومات أعضاءَ هيئة تدريس مؤهَّلين ممّن يملكون الخبرةَ في مجاليّ التدريس والبحث العلميّ، وقادرين على تحمُّل الأعباء التدريسيّة، وإعداد البحوث العلميّةِ، وإرشاد الطلبة وتقديم المشورة لهم، والانضمام إلى لجان الكليّة المختلفة، والمشاركة في أنشطتها، وكذلك خدمة المجتمع المحليّ، والانضمام إلى برامج تطوير أعضاء هيئة التدريس. كما يلتزم كلُّ عضو هيئة تدريس بمعايير الجودة بحيث يكون له دور رئيسي في عملية ضمان الجودة. كما تختارُ الكليّةُ موظّفيها بعنايةٍ من أصحاب الخبرة المناسبة وذلك لتقديم أفضل الخدمات للطلبة ولأعضاء الهيئة التدريسية. ولدى الكليّة فريقٌ ممتازٌ من الموظفين الإداريّين والفنيّين والمبرمجين ومطوّري الشبكات والمتخصصين في أمن المعلومات ومصممي المواقع الإلكترونية ووسائل الإعلام، والمتخصصين في التعليم الإلكترونيّ ومشرفي المختبرات.
المختبرات الحاسوبية
لدى كليّة تكنولوجيا المعلومات عدد كبير من أحدث أجهزة الحاسوب، حيثُ تزيد نسبةُ هذه الحواسيب (1: 1.6) حاسوب/طالب، موزَّعةً على (15) مختبراً حاسوبياً مجهزاً بأجهزةِ ربطِ الشبكات عالية الأداءِ ذات المواصفات القياسيّة العالميّة لضمان شبكات محليَّة موثوقة واتصال بالإنترنت. وتستخدم أجهزة الحاسوب في هذه المختبرات نظامي التشغيل Windows و Linux، إضافةً إلى البرمجيّات المتقدّمة التي تخدمُ مختلف المواد التدريسيّة. كما تُوفّرُ الكليّةُ مختبرًا لبرمجة الوسائط المتعدّدة وثلاثة مختبرات متطوّرة تخدمُ برنامجَ شبكات الحاسوب يتمُّ استخدامُها لتعليم دورات السيسكو (CCNA وCCNP) والسيسكو اللّاسلكية (CCNP wireless) ودورات (IP-Telephony).
القاعات التدريسية والمرافق
صُمّمت القاعات الدراسية بعنايةٍ لتكون مريحةً للطلبة والمدرسين، حيثُ تمَّ تجهيز القاعات الدراسيَّة بأجهزة الحاسوب وأجهزة العرض، والشاشات، والألواح البيضاء، وأجهزة اتّصال بالإنترنت.
المراكز والمنتديات
تهتمُّ الكليّةُ بجميع الأنشطة المنهجيّة واللّامنهجّية من خلال فتح المراكز والمنتديات لعقد تلك الأنشطة وتدريب الطلاب. ويتم تنظيم هذه الأنشطة من خلال عدة مكاتب ومراكز تابعة للكليّة وتشمل:
  • مركز التعلّم الإلكترونيّ.
  • مكتب ضمان الجودة.
  • مركز الابداع والريادة.
  • مركز الإرشاد الطلابي والخبرة العمليّة.
  • نادي الأنشطة الطلابية (SAC).
  • نادي مايكروسوفت (NET Club).
  • أنشطة معرض طلبة تكنولوجيا المعلومات (ITSAF).
  • أكاديمية مايكروسوفت لتكنولوجيا المعلومات.
  • أكاديمية سيسكو.
  • برنامج التدريب الموازي (PTP).

مزايا برامج الكلية

 تُقدِّمُ الكليّةُ برامجَ معتمدةٍ من وزارة التعليم العالي الأردنية وهيئة الاعتماد. جرت صياغة خطط المساقات مختارةٌ بدقة لتلبية معايير اعتماد وزارة التعليم العالي والبحث العلمي، ومعايير وكالة الجودة النوعيّة للتعليم العالي في المملكة المتحدة، وكذلك إرشادات جمعية (ACM) لتخصص علم الحاسوب، وأنظمة الجامعة الداخلية.
 وتوجدُ مختبرات مجانيّة لمعظم مساقات الخطط لتنفيذ تطبيقات عمليّة ومشاريع المساقات ومشاريع التخرُّج.
تسعى كلية تكنولوجيا المعلومات لأن تكون في طليعة الكليّات المتميزة على المستوى المحلي والإقليمي في جودة التعليم والبحث العلمي في مجال تكنولوجيا المعلومات.
المساهمة بشكل فعال في تطوير مهنة تكنولوجيا المعلومات على المستويين المحلي والدولي عن طريق تقديم تعليم ذو جودة وفق المعايير الدوليّة لإعداد خريجين متميّزين ومؤهلين للعمل والبحث العلمي وقادرين على المساهمة الإيجابية في خدمة المجتمع.
  • المستقبل الوظيفي المهني: القدرة على الحصول على وظيفة ذات مستقبل وظيفي جيد في مجال البرمجة وتكنولوجيا المعلومات بالاعتماد على المعرفة الواسعة المكتسبة في أساسيات علم الحاسوب وتكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات.
  • التعلم المستمر والدراسات العليا: القدرة على التكيّف مع ومواكبة التّكنولوجيات الحديثة وأحدث المستجدات في مجال تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتّصالات، ومتابعة الدراسات العليا، واختيار المجالات البحثيّة المتقدمة.
  • القيادة وخدمة المجتمع: القدرة على إكساب الطلاب مهارات الاتصال، والتّفكير الإبداعيّ والرياديّ، والمهارات التقنية وبناء شخصيتهم وغرس الأخلاق الحميدة فيهم، والقدرة على تقديم الخدمات والدعم المتواصل للمجتمع المحليّ.
الأقسام
الأقسام

علم الحاسوب

 ​يهتم بتدريس الحوسبة , ومعالجة البيانات والنظريات والتطبيقات التي تشكل الأساس لأتمتة نقل المعلومات واستخدامها , وذلك بدراسة البرامج والتطبيقات والمكونات المادية للحاسوب . المزيد

هندسة البرمجيات

 ​يهدف تخصص هندسة البرمجيات إلى تزويد الطالب بالمعرفة اللازمة لمستقبل مهني في مجالات هندسة النظم البرمجية الكبيرة و إدارة مشاريع البرمجة . ويدرس الطالب في الكلية كيفية تطوير النظم وتكاملها . المزيد
 

نظم المعلومات الحاسوبية

يعنى تخصص نظم المعلومات الحاسوبية بإنتاج قوى عاملة مؤهلة تأهيلا عاليا، قادرة على لعب دور قيادي في مجتمع المعلوماتية. المزيد

شبكات الحاسوب

 ​يعتبر تخصص الشبكات و الاتصالات من أكثر تخصصات تكنولوجيا المعلومات نمواً و تطوراً. و قد ازدادت أهمية هذا التخصص مؤخراً بسبب التطورات الحديثة في مجال الانترنت و تطبيقاتها المختلفة. المزيد
 
كلمة العميد د. نهى الخليلي

Dean
إنّه لمن دواعي سروري أن أرحبَّ بكم في الموقع الخاص بكلية تكنولوجيا المعلومات، حيثُ تُعدُّ هذه الكلية من الكليّات الفاعلة على مستوى جامعة البترا، وتعدُّ حاضنةً ...
التقويم
<تموز 2019>
السبتالاحدالاثنينالثلاثاءالاربعاءالخميسالجمعة
12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031