Mohammed Hasan Abu-Arqoub

7403 7100

Administrative Position : Assistant Professor

Qualification : Ph.D

Email :

Specialization: simulation of MPs

Graduate Of: Saint Petersburg State Electrotechnical University

 I would like to express my warmest welcome to you as the Chair to the Department of Computer Science at the University of Petra.

Computer has revolutionized our world as we know it in the past five decades and will continue to serve as the core of all technologies in the 21st century. To prepare the future leaders in Computer Science, I am proud to be the chair of the department of Computer Science at the University of Petra. Computer Science is an attractive subject, and one that is now very essential in our lives. Almost every aspect of modern life involves the use of computer concepts - from mobile phones, TVs, planes, trains and cars, to gaming, security and medicine. The digital world is really upon us. The design, coding, and testing of such systems is a complex task - and one needing a highly trained workforce. By studying Computer Science at University of Petra you will get both an understanding of the Computer Science subject, and also equip yourself with the skills to have a successful career ahead of you.
The Department of Computer Science at University of Petra, was established at the time of establishment of the University in 1991 to be part of the Faculty of Science. In the year 2003, the Department of Computer Science became part of a new constructed Faculty, which is Faculty of Information Technology.
The aim of establishing the Department of computer Science was to provide our students with latest technical knowledge and skills with the qualified teaching academic staff, state of the art lab facilities and excellent research and development environment. The motivation is not just to care for their technical skills but to provide professional preparing and guidance so that our students come-up as thorough professionals and motivating individuals. To meet the objectives our department pays special emphasis on teaching and hands on practical work. The students demonstrate their learning outcomes in the final year projects. The graduation projects of our students have won many National and International awards (e.g., Microsoft's Imagine Cup), and funding. In line with this vision is the organization of Projects Exhibition & Competition (ITSAF) arranged by the department every year since 2004. This event provides a platform for academia industry linkage and collaboration. It enables industry professional to witness the emerging talent and provide professional opportunities to the candidates. At the same time, the students get the opportunity to demonstrate their innovative ideas, skills and abilities and discover a professional horizon for themselves. This make our graduates are exceptionally employable, and find instance employment within a variety of sectors and in senior positions around the world.
As a student at University of Petra, you have the opportunity to study a variety of subjects encompassing all aspects of Computer Science. We have some unique aspects in our courses. For example, our Innovation and Research centres give you a real insight into being a professional and the experience of being a scientist.
I invite you to browse the pages of our website to get a sight of some of the exciting opportunities available through our department. On our website, we try to give you an insight into Computer Science, and the opportunities that we can provide to study this subject and I hope that you find information on our website sufficient and useful to encourage you to apply to study Computer Science here at University of Petra. As you start your University career, we in Computer Science would like to wish you prosperous future.
Have an enjoyable stay and study here and wish you all the best.
Head of Department

Head of Department
It is with a great pleasure to welcome you to the Department of Computer Science website.
Event Calendar
<October 2016>

جسرٌ نحو المعرفة

 أود أن أتقدم بأحر الترحيب إليكم كرئيس لقسم علم الحاسوب في جامعة البترا. ان الحوسبة قد احدثت ثوره في عالمنا كما هو معروف في العقود الماضيين وستبقى الحوسبة هي جوهر كل التقنيات في القرن 21. لذا انا فخور بأن أكون رئيس قسم علم الحاسوب الذي يقدم برنامج درجة البكالوريوس في علم الحاسوب القادر على المساهمة الفعالة في إعداد قادة المستقبل لهذا الفرع من العلوم المهمة والمتجددة. ان علم الحاسوب موضوع شيق وجذاب اذ لا غنى عنه في حياتنا الآن. ان الحوسبة تنطوي تقريبا على كل جانب من جوانب الحياة العصرية ابتداء من الهواتف النقالة، وأجهزة التلفاز والطائرات والقطارات والسيارات، والألعاب، والأمن وليس انتهاء بالطب. لذلك تصميم، وبرمجة، واختبار الأنظمة المحوسبة التي تغطي جميع مرافق الحياة هي مهمة معقدة وتحتاج إلى قوى عاملة عالية التدريب. من خلال دراسة تخصص علم الحاسوب في جامعة البترا ستحصل على كل ما تحتاجه من معارف ومهارات تؤهلك للحصول على وظيفة تلائم تطلعاتك وطموحاتك.

تم إنشاء قسم علم الحاسوب في كلية تكنولوجيا المعلومات في جامعة البترا منذ تأسيس الجامعة وذلك في عام 1991 ليكون جزءا من كلية العلوم. في عام 2003، أصبح قسم علم الحاسوب جزء من كلية شيدت جديدا، وهي كلية تكنولوجيا المعلومات.
وكان الهدف من إنشاء قسم علم الحاسوب هو تعزيز طلابنا بأحدث المعارف التقنية والمهارات من خلال تقديم لهم أفضل أعضاء هيئة تدريسية، وأحدث المختبرات والمرافق العلمية بالإضافة الى البيئة التعليمية والبحثية الممتازة. كما وان الدافع ليس فقط لرعاية مهارات الطلبة الفنية ولكن ايضا لإعداد وتوجيه طلابنا ليحصلوا على الكفاءة والمهنية العالية والشاملة ليكونوا أفرادا مميزين في المجتمع. ولتحقيق هذه الأهداف فان القسم يدفع باتجاه التركيز بشكل خاص على التعليم والتدريب العملي والتطبيقي حيث ان الطالب خلال دراسته يتم تدريبه بإحدى المؤسسات الحكومية او الخاصة في مجال التخصص وفي السنة الأخيرة من الدراسة يقوم الطالب بالمشاركة مع زملاءه بإعداد وتنفيذ مشروعا يهدف الى اكساب الطالب المهارات اللازمة لسوق العمل. علما ان العديد من مشاريع طلبتنا قد فازت بالعديد من الجوائز والتمويل الوطني. وتماشيا مع هذه الرؤية فان القسم يقوم بتنظيم معرض سنوي منذ عام 2004 لأعمال ومشاريع الطلبة على مستوى الجامعات الأردنية والعربية (ITSAF) حيث يتنافس الطلبة على جائزة أفضل مشروع. هذا الحدث يقدم منصة للربط والتعاون بين الصناعة والأوساط الأكاديمية. فإنه يمكن اصحاب المهن الصناعية والمهنية المختلفة لمشاهدة المواهب الصاعدة وتوفير فرص العمل لهم. في نفس الوقت، يسمح المعرض للطلاب الفرصة لعرض مبتكراتهم من الأفكار والمهارات والإمكانات واكتشاف الأفق المهنية لأنفسهم.

 

كونك طالب في جامعة البترا وفي قسم علم الحاسوب فانه لديك الفرصة لدراسة مجموعة متنوعة من المواضيع تشمل جميع جوانب علوم الحاسوب اذ انه لدينا بعض الجوانب الفريدة والتي تميزنا عن غيرنا باحتواء كلية تكنولوجيا المعلومات على مجموعه من المراكز كمركز الابداع والريادة ومركز التعلم الالكتروني ومركز البحث العلمي والتي تساهم جميعها في خدمتك على مدار الساعة.
أنا فخور كثيرا بطلابنا وانجازاتهم ونجاحهم في المسابقات الوطنية والدولية مثل مايكروسوفت "كأس التخيل"
وأنا أدعوكم لتصفح صفحات موقعنا على الانترنت للحصول على ما تحتاجه من المعلومات والفرص المتاحة من خلال قسمنا. على موقعنا، نحن نحاول أن نقدم لكم نظرة شامله حول تخصص علم الحاسوب، والفرص التي يمكن أن نقدمها لكم للدراسة في هذا التخصص وآمل أن تجدو المعلومات على موقعنا على الانترنت مفيدة وتشجعك على الالتحاق للدراسة في قسم علم الحاسوب هنا في جامعة البترا.
إننا في قسم علم الحاسوب نتمنى لكم التوفيق في دراستكم المستقبلية.
 

 

د. محمد ابوعرقوب


 

كلمة رئيس القسم

Department Chair
د. محمد حسن ابوعرقوب
أود أن أتقدم بأحر الترحيب إليكم كرئيس لقسم علم الحاسوب في جامعة البترا
التقويم
<آذار 2017>
السبتالاحدالاثنينالثلاثاءالاربعاءالخميسالجمعة
123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031