Skip Navigation Links Home : Academics : Faculty of Arts & Sciences : Arabic Language & Literature
Overview
Arabic is the language of Arabs and Ismael Bin Ibrahim (peace be upon them) was the first to speak the Arabic language when he was thirteen years old. Afterwards, the twelve sons of Ismael spread Arabic language. There was disagreement among scholars about the origins of Arab individual and probably he was an Arab. Arab individual is more proficient than other speakers in Arabic as it is the language of the Holy Quran, which is still recited until today.
Arabic language is the broadest language. Allah selected Arabic as the language of Islam, which was the last religion to come down.  Ibn Taymiyyah said "Arabic language itself is part of Islam, and knowing Arabic is an obligatory duty. If it is a duty to understand the Quran and Islam  and they cannot be understood without knowing Arabic then the means needed to fulfill the duty also becomes obligatory".
Arabic language is one of the recognized living languages and its civilizational role is widely recognized. Moreover, Arabic was the language of culture, science and knowledge long time ago. Knowledge seekers learnt Arabic as a mean for learning sciences and knowledge. In spite of its weak speakers and low progress, Arabic occupies the same position until today.
The history of UOP Arabic Language and Literature Department:
The Arabic Language and Literature Department went through many phases as follows:
First Phase: Establishment Phase
The Department of Arabic Language started its works in 1991, which was UOP inauguration year. The Department of Arabic was a sub-department of the Linguistics Department, which was chaired by Prof. Daoud Abdah. The English Language and Literature Department was the other sub-department of Linguistics Department.  Prof. Ahmad Al-Khateeb chaired Arabic Language and Literature Department and Prof. Ali Hajjaj chaired the English Language and Literature Department. The Department of Linguistics was teaching university requirements and department requirements for Bachelor Degree in Arabic Language and Literature.
Second Phase: Development Phase
The Department of Arabic Language and Literature conducted a constructive review to its programs and plans and started amending them to keep pace with the latest developments. The Department of Arabic Language and Literature set the roadmap for the establishment of the center of teaching Arabic to non-Arabic speakers in cooperation with the Department of English Language and Literature.  The Department of Arabic Language and Literature started teaching Arabic for postgraduates.
Third Phase: Prosperity Phase
After twenty years of establishment, the Department of Arabic Language and Literature launched Master's program in Arabic Language and Literature upon finalizing the requirements of UOP councils and higher education councils.
During the upcoming phase, the Department of Arabic Language and Literature looks forward to:
Establish the Faculty of Arabic Language and Literature, which is expected to offer programs in the areas of creative Arabic, such as scenario writing, dialogue for television, radio and cinema works.
The Department of Arabic Language and Literature offers the following degrees:
  • Bachelor Degree in Arabic Language and Literature (since its establishment).
  • Master Degree in Arabic Language and Literature (since 2011).
The Chairmen of Arabic Language and Literature Department:
Chairman of Arabic Language and Literature Department
Year
Prof. Daoud Abdah
1994 - 1991
Prof. Mohammed Houwar
1996 - 1994
Prof Ahmad Al-Khateeb
2010 - 1996
Prof. Essam Sakhnini
2012 - 2010
Dr. Khalid Jaber
2014 - 2012
Dr. Atef Kanaan
2014 - 2018
Dr. Razan Ibrahim
2018​ - ....
The Department of Arabic Language and Literature seeks to found a distinct level of knowledge and skills in the literature and sciences of Arabic language for the sake of establishing a research centre serving the nation and preserving an essential component of the nation’s identity.
The Department of Arabic Language and Literature priotizes its tendency for equipping the graduate students with the linguistic, literary and critical skills necessary to indulge them in various occupational fields and academic research. Furthermore, the department bears the responsibility to instill the principles of the Arab-Islamic nation, which meets with the essence of the Arabic language values.
  1. To graduate distinguished students in Arabic language and literature with the capability to engage fruitfully in the labor market and join graduate programs, throughout acquiring knowledge, skills, and other educational demands necessary to their field of specialization.
  2. To provide students, from various university majors, with the language skills that serve their university academic needs through the enrollment in the university's compulsory requirement course (Arabic Language (1)) and other elective courses offered by the department.
  3. To participate effectively in improving the quality of academic life in college and university through engaging in various activities and membership of academic and cultural committees.
  4. To boost the department/ university relations with the local community by participating in events, seminars and conferences and by establishing active membership with intellectual and cultural institutions in particular; in addition to holding symposiums and conferences on the university’s campus with the collaboration of intellectuals from the university and abroad.
  5. To enhance the academic level of the department’s faculty members by boosting the positive, competitive research atmosphere which facilitates publication, investigation, and authorship; whether in joint projects or individual research.
  6. To communicate constantly with the university library administration for encouraging students to carry out research, write reports, and review the possibility to develop the collection of Arabic language books and literature in the library.
Department Chair's Message, Dr. Amani Abdullah

Department Chair
It is important for Departments of Arabic Language and Literature to work in universities that provide special care to them ...
Event Calendar
<October 2020>
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

جسرٌ نحو المعرفة
لمحة عامة
اللغةُ العربيّة هي لغة العربِ، وأوّلُ من تكلّمها إسماعيلُ بنُ إبراهيمَ عليهما السّلام، وهو ابنُ ثلاثَ عَشْرَةَ سنة، تعلّمها من قبيلةِ جُرهم؛ لمّا نشأَ بينهم. ومن اثني عشر ابناً عظيمًا له نَشَرَ اللهُ اللغَةَ العربيّة والعربَ. وقد اختلفَ العلماءُ في العَربيّ، فكان الأرجحُ أنَّ من تكلّمها كانَ عربيّاً. والعربيُّ مُنمازٌ عن غيرهِ، بلُغتِهِ العربيّةِ التي نزَلَ بها كتابٌ مقدَّسٌ مازالَ يُقرأُ بين أيدي الناسِ حتّى يومنا هذا.
واللغةُ العربيّةُ هي أوسعُ اللغاتِ، وأجملُها بياناً، وقد خصّها الله أنْ كانت لغةُ الإسلامِ آخر دياناتِهِ. يقول ابن تَيْمِية: "إن نَفسَ اللغةِ مِنَ الدّينِ، ومعرفتُها فَرْضٌ واجِبٌ، فإنّ فَهْمَ الكتابِ والسُّنةِ فرضٌ، ولا يُفهَما إلا بفهم اللغةِ العربيَّةِ، وما لا يَتِمُّ الواجبُ إلا بِهِ فَهُوَ واجبٌ".
واللغةُ العربيّةُ هي إحدى اللغات الحيّة المُعترفِ بها وبدورِها الحضاريّ، فقد حملت، ومازالت تحمل إرثاً حضاريّاً عظيماً، وقد كانت لغة العلمِ والمعرفةِ زماناً طويلاً، لدرجة أنَّ طلابَ المعرفةِ كانوا يتعلّمونها؛ بوصفها أداةً لتعلُّمِ العلوم والمعارف. وهي لم تتوقّف عن ذلك بالرغم ضعفِ أهلِها، وبُطْء مسيرها.
تاريخ قسم اللغة العربيّة وآدابها في جامعةِ البترا:
مرّ قسم اللغة العربية منذ إنشائه إلى اليوم بعدة مراحل:
المرحلة الأولى: مرحلة التأسيس:
بدأ قسم اللغة العربيّة مع بداية افتتاح جامعة البترا عام (1991م)، فكان ضمن قسمٍ عامٍ هو قسم اللغوياتِ، برئاسة أ.د. داوود عبده. وكان قسم اللغويات ينقسمُ إلى قسمين: قسم اللغةِ العربيّةِ وآدابها؛ ويَنْسُقُ أعماله د. أحمد الخطيب آنئذٍ، وقسم اللغةِ الإنجليزيّة؛ وينسّقه أ.د. علي حجاج. وكانَ القسم -وقتها- يقوم بتدريس متطلبات الجامعة لأقسامها المختلفةِ، وتدريس متطلباتِ القسم للحصولِ على شهادةٍ في اللغةِ العربيّةِ وآدابها.
المرحلة الثانية: مرحلةُ التطويرِ:
بدأَ فيها قسمُ اللغةِ العربيّةِ وآدابها ينظرُ إلى نفسِهِ نظرةَ الناقِدِ الباني، فشرعَ في تعديل خططِهِ؛ لتتواكبَ مع مستجداتِ المرحلةِ، وجعلَ هذا ديدناً له؛ كلما طرأ جديد. كما شرَعَ في رسمِ طريقِهِ نحو افتتاحِ مركزٍ لتعليمِ العربيّةِ للناطقين بغيرها، بالاشتراك مع قسم اللغةِ الإنجليزيّةِ. عدا عن أنه دخل مرحلةٍ جديدةٍ في تعليم العربيّةِ لطلبةِ الدراسات العليا.
المرحلة الثالثة: مرحلة التقدّم:
بعد قرابة العشرين عاماً من المرحلة التأسيسيّةِ، بدأ قسمُ اللغةِ العربيّةِ في جامعةِ البترا، يُدرسُ اللغة العربيّة لطلبة برنامج الماجستير، بعد استكمالِ متطلباتِ ذلك، وموافقة مجالس الجامعةِ، ومجلس التعليم العالي.
أما المرحلة القادمة التي ينظرُ إليها قسمُ اللغةِ العربيّةِ وآدابها في جامعة البترا:
فيتطلعُ قسمُ اللغةِ العربيّةِ وآدابها في جامعةِ البترا، أْن يتحول إلى كلية اللغة العربيّة وآدابها، وهي كليّةٌ يحلُمُ القسمُ أنْ تضُمَ عدداً من التخصّصاتِ الدقيقةِ في علومِ العربيّةِ الإبداعيّةِ، وعلى رأسِها: كتابة السيناريو، والحوار للأعمالِ التلفزيونيّة، والإذاعيّة، والسينمائيّة...
الشّهادات العلمية التي يمنحها قسمُ اللغةِ العربيّةِ وآدابها في جامعة البترا:

يمنح قسمُ اللغةِ العربيّةِ وآدابها في جامعةِ البترا:

  • الشهادة الجامعية (البكالوريوس) في علوم العربيّةِ، مُذْ تأسيسِهِ.
  • وبعد افتتاح برنامج الماجستير، بدأ يَمنَحُ الدّرجةَ العلميّةَ العليا الأولى (الماجستير).
رؤساء أقسام اللغة العربيّة وآدابها:
رئيسُ قسم اللغةِ العربيّةِ وآدابها
السنة
أ. د. داود عبده
1994-1991
أ. د. محمد حُوّر
1996-1994
أ. د. أحمد الخطيب
2010-1996
أ. د. عصام سخنيني
2012-2010
د. خالد الجبر
2014-2012
د. عاطف كنعان
2014-2018
أ.د. رزان إبراهيم
2018-2019
د. أماني سليمان
2019-.....
يسعى قسم اللغة العربية وآدابها إلى تقديم مستوى متميز من المعرفة والمهارة في اللغة العربية وآدابها وعلومها وإلى أن يكون مركزاً بحثياً فاعلاً خدمة للوطن وحفاظاً على عنصر أساسي من عناصر هوية الأمة.
يضع قسم اللغة العربية وآدابها في مقدمة أولوياته تخريج طلبة مزودين بالمهارات اللغوية والأدبية والنقدية اللازمة لدخول مجالات العمل المهني المتنوعة من جهة والتميز فيها والعمل البحثي الأكاديمي من جهة أخرى، ويحمل القسم على عاتقه إنزال اللغة العربية منزلة عليا في نفوس طلبة القسم اعتداداً بها ووفاءً لثوابت الأمة العربية الإسلامية.
تتلخص أهداف قسم اللغة العربية وآدابها فيما يأتي:
  1. تخريج طلبة متميزين في اللغة العربية وآدابها، مُزوَّدين بالقدرة على الدخول في سوق العمل، فضلاً عن الالتحاق ببرامج الدراسات العليا، وذلك بتحقيق مطالب معرفية ومهارية وأدائية وتربوية في مجال التخصص.
  2. تزويد الطلبة من مختلف التخصصات في الجامعة بالمهارات اللغوية التي تخدم دراستهم الجامعية، وذلك بما يدرسونه في متطلبات الجامعة الإجبارية (اللغة العربية1)، وتحسين مستوى هذا المقرر باستمرار وتطويره بما يتلاءم مع التعليم المهارى؛ إضافة إلى مقررات الكلية الإجبارية والاختيارية التي يطرحها القسم.
  3. المشاركة الفاعلة في تحسين نوعية الحياة الأكاديمية في الكلية والجامعة، وذلك بالمشاركة في الأنشطة، واللجان الثقافية، والأكاديمية المتعددة.
  4. تحسين علاقات القسم/ الجامعة بالمجتمع المحلي، وذلك بالمشاركة في الفعاليات والندوات والمؤتمرات، والعضوية في المؤسسات الثقافية والفكرية على وجه الخصوص؛ فضلاً عن عقد الندوات والمؤتمرات في رحاب الجامعة بمشاركة متخصصين من الجامعة ومن خارجها أيضاً.
  5. العمل على رفع المستوى الأكاديمي لأعضاء هيئة التدريس في القسم، وذلك بخلق روح المنافسة العلمية الإيجابية بالبحث والنشر والتحقيق والتأليف، سواء ما كان في مشاريع مشتركة، وبحوث فردية.
  6. التواصل المستمر مع إدارة مكتبة الجامعة من أجل تشجيع الطلبة على إنجاز بحوث، أو كتابة تقارير، وكذلك استعراض إمكانية تطوير المجموعة الخاصة بكتب اللغة العربية وآدابها في المكتبة.
كلمة رئيس القسم د. أماني عبد الله

Department Chair
ينهض قسم اللغة العربية وآدابها في جامعة البترا برؤية حداثية تربط اللغة ومجالاتها المعرفية المتنوعة بمتطلبات التكنولوجيا؛ حيث يتخرج طالب اللغة العربية بمهارات ...
التقويم
<نيسان 2021>
السبتالاحدالاثنينالثلاثاءالاربعاءالخميسالجمعة
12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930